Latest Articles
A square and a set of compasses linked together, commonly known as the Square and Compasses, is the most identified mark of Freemasonry. The square and compasses on the symbol are representations o.. Read More
The Royal Arch Masonry is the extension of Craft Freemasonry. The members of the fraternity, identified as the Companions, meet in particular Chapters under the assistance of a Grand Chapter. Each .. Read More
Composed of specific clothing and insignia, regalia is a legitimate traditional practice that is a manifestation of chivalric organizations during the Medieval and Renaissance periods. Today, numer.. Read More
The manifestation of true Masonic etiquette is rarely confined to Lodge assemblies conducted by the organization. Certain social manners fit for each member of the Freemasonry, such as when a membe.. Read More
All Articles

The Officers in a Masonic Lodge

The Officers in a Masonic Lodge

Every Masonic Lodge either elects or appoints Lodge Officers to carry out the functions and responsibilities of the lodge's work. The actual list of officers may differ from one jurisdiction to another, though certain variables are standard for all. The duties of the Officers in a lodge are entirely established by the lodge's leaders. Much like any organization, the officers are unable to effectively function if there is no leadership team that the training needed to do the job right. The future of the lodge is determined by how good this team of officers operates together to deliver the right kind of training required for the needs of the lodge.

The ranking of the officers in the United States and in most jurisdictions all over the world is as follows:

·         Junior Steward

·         Senior Steward

·         Junior Deacon

·         Senior Deacon

·         Junior Warden

·         Senior Warden

·         Worshipful Master

Lodge Officers are important variables of the lodge's progressive line. In Freemasonry, this is generally acknowledged as "going through the chairs." This particular line of sequence rises one rank at a time, year after year. If after a year, nobody is asked to step out of the progressive line, seven years from the moment a brother becomes a Junior Steward, the then-Master Mason is going to take the lodge’s Worshipful Master seat.

Each rank takes on an essential part to ensure that the organization to be successful and rewarding. Fundamentally, the Masonic Lodge Officer responsibilities and Masonic Officer Training composition, just like their counterparts in the corporate world, they take on the responsibilities of the entire lodge to guarantee a harmonious and worthwhile organization.

The following are the five chief Officers in nearly all Masonic Lodge in the world, regardless of jurisdiction:

·         Top Officer 1 - Worshipful Master

·         Top Officer 2 - Senior Warden

·         Top Officer 3 - Junior Warden

·         Officer 4 - Treasurer

·         Officer 5 - Secretary

All of these positions are elected by the members of the Lodge during their yearly elections. Typically, each rank is occupied for an entire year, though the incumbent officer may be re-elected depending on special circumstances. The remaining positions are appointed rank. The Worshipful Master will make the necessary selection and appointment.

Web Design by Fraser Web Design